Megan Shallow

FullSizeRender 4
“I am a young adult living in the beautiful Okanagan and this project is the perfect representation of what makes Kelowna such an amazing city to live in.  I am originally from the lower mainland and came to Kelowna to attend UBC Okanagan in 2009 and I have been unable to tear myself away ever since.  I graduated from UBCO with an Honours Degree in Psychology and I plan on continuing my studies in Holistic Nutrition in order to educate our community about the healing factors food has on us at a physical, mental and spiritual level. I always attempt to be involved in many activities and events that go on in Kelowna and I try my best to be a positive influence in the lives of those just starting their young adult lives. I am extremely passionate about helping youth become the best version of themselves, therefore, I have a compilation of jobs where I do just this. I currently am a swim coach for the Ogopogo Swim Club as well as the OKM Swim Academy. As well, I am involved in the YMCA Summer Work Student Exchange program, which provides an affordable opportunity for Kelowna youth to participate in an exchange program with Quebec. I always put my heart and soul into the work that I do and in turn it never really feels like ‘work’.

The energy in Kelowna makes me want to stay and build a life here. I never thought I would fall in love with a city so fast and hard. For the first time in 7 years I left Kelowna to go to Thailand for 7 weeks. When I came back over the bridge I almost cried. My heart and soul resides in this beautiful city and I want to have a family, establish a career, and become the best version of myself in the amazing Okanagan.”- Megan Shallow

Megan has graciously donated her time to much of the ‘behind the scenes’ work for the Face of Kelowna project.  I have to say that the people I have met since starting this project  has been the best part so far and Megan is a perfect example of the kindness, sincerity and generosity that others have poured into this.  Although Ernest Hemingway provided the quote for today, I can almost hear it coming from Megan as she truly wants to help people be the best people they can be for themselves.  From myself and others that you have helped along your way, thank you!!!

‘There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man; true nobility is being superior to your former self.’ – Ernest Hemingway

Leave a comment